Table 1—

Definitions of retinopathy grades

1No retinopathy
1.5Only intraretinal hemorrhages
2Only microaneurysms
3Microaneurysms and intraretinal hemorrhages, maximum 20 red dots
3.5Grade 3 plus hard exudates or >20 red dots
4Grade 3 plus >1 cotton wool spot or intraretinal microangiopathy or venous beading
5Neovascularization or fibrosis in the optic disc (and/or elsewhere in the retina), preretinal hemorrhage, and/or vitreous hemorrhage
6Not gradable