Table 1—

The CHS wound grade scale

Wound gradeStage description
1Partial thickness involving only dermis and epidermis
2Full thickness and subcutaneous tissues
3Grade 2 plus exposed tendons, ligament, and/or joint
4Grade 3 plus abscess and/or osteomyelitis
5Grade 3 plus necrotic tissue in wound
6Grade 3 plus gangrene in the wound and surrounding tissue