Table 1

Awards and honors

Scientific and medical honor societiesHonorary member, Diabetic Pregnancy Study Group of the European Association for the Study of Diabetes, 1989–2018
Member, Royal Academy of Medicine, Spain, 1994
American Diabetes AssociationOutstanding Physician-Clinician Award, 1995
The Norbert Freinkel Award for scholarship in the field of diabetes and pregnancy, 2001
Teacher/scientistAndrew W. Mellon Teacher-Scientist Award, 1978
Outstanding Teacher of the Year, Santa Barbara Cottage Hospital, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1994, 1995, 1997, 1998, 2001, 2005, 2008
Pfizer Visiting Professorship Award, Temple University School of Medicine, 1997, and University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston, 1998
Roche Diagnostics/The Zitter Group Diabetes Disease Management Leadership Award, 1998
Josiah Kirby Lilly, Sr. Distinguished Service Award, 2006
Jorgen Pedersen Lecturer (Lifetime Achievement Award from the Diabetic Pregnancy Study Group of the European Association for the Study of Diabetes), 2007
W.D. Sansum Award for Excellence in Science, 2014
OtherSanta Barbara Diabetes Association Tribute Dinner Awardee, 1992
Clintec Award for Excellence in Clinical Nutrition, The American College of Nutrition, 1992
Woman of Distinction Award in the Field of Health, Soroptimist International, 1994
Distinguished Physician Award, Santa Barbara Cottage Hospital, 1994
Mount Sinai School of Medicine Second Annual Stanley Mirsky, MD Lectureship Award, 2008
Tres Condados Woman of Distinction Award in the Field of Health, 1996
Santa Barbara Council on Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Woman of Distinction, 1996
Women’s Economic Ventures, Business Women of the Year Awards: Professional Services, 2002
March of Dimes Agnes Higgins Award to honor distinguished achievement in maternal-fetal nutrition, 2003
Albert Einstein College of Medicine Distinguished Alumnus/a Award, 2003
The Ray A. and Robert L. Kroc Lectureship in the College of Medicine, The Ohio State University, 2004
Honorary Member, Diabetes Treatment Centers of America, Advisory Board
Santa Barbara Neighborhood Clinics Community Hero, 2005
Distinguished Service Award, National Disease Research Interchange/JDRF, 2011
Santa Barbara Region Chamber of Commerce Woman of the Year, 2011